Padma Shree Laila Tayabji

       Founder, Dastkaar


Manisha Jha

Santa Fe Folk Art Festival Icon


Dr. Fatina Saiklay

Founder, Director, Co-Creando, Italy

  Dr. Himadri Ghosh

Director, Banasthali Institute of Design


Prof. Aftaab Gharda

Former Director, BIAD, 

Birmingham, UK

Craft Village

Rare Crafts of India

Dr.Ghada Hijjawi-Qaddumi

President, World Craft Council, Asia Pacific 

Padma Shree S Shakir Ali

 Miniature Painting Artist


J Niranjan

President, Paramparik Karigar


         Errol Pires Nelson

    Camel Braiding World Master


“International Craft Awards 2017 are instituted to recognize Craftsman, Artisans and Designers from across the world and their outstanding contribution for sustainable & inclusive development in Craft Sector”. Iti Tyagi, Founder, Craft Village

Date: 26th Sep 2017


I am writing to congratulate all the award winners on being awarded the 1st International Craft Awards 2017, under various categories for the Year 2017. The award could not have gone to more deserving person/institution/organization in recognizing their invaluable contribution to the Craft Sector. They have all been notified vide email/letter dated 26th September. 

Their work & contribution to craft sector has been found by the Jury as most outstanding and they have decided to confer upon this prestigious award at 7 PM, 14th October 2017, at the Venue: 19B Shivji Marg, Westend Greens, Rangpuri, New Delhi. The Awards will be presented to you by the Honorable Minister, Jury Members and the distinguished dignitaries on the dais. 

The awards have been instituted to recognize Craftsman, Artisans, Designers, Individuals/Organisations from across the world for their outstanding contribution in sustainable & inclusive development for Craft Sector. We have received the interests from more than 30-countries and final participation & winners from Nepal, Egypt, Singapore, Philippines, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, India, Serbia, South Africa, Hong Kong and many Indian State Governments. 

More than hundreds of Applicants have applied for different category from various countries/nations and the after a tough scrutiny of the Jury members from various countries have arrived on the winners. International Craft Awards 2017 brings on board such "Unsung craft masters/organisations of all times".

 Craft sector has gone through many phases of change, and many believe that there is an emergence of a new Craft culture while retaining the tradition. This sector has been the major source of employability for millions of households after agriculture. Craft is perhaps the only sector that has worked tirelessly for sustainable development. These millions of Artisans and Craftsmen have given definition of living to any tradition and culture of the world; yet these artisan and craftsman have been working in isolation. In absence of money and recognition the "masters of the magic" have left these age old crafts and are becoming daily wages labour or changing their professions, and their next generations seeing no "value in crafts" have started to migrate into newer areas bringing to the end of the road these glorious world crafts. Hence, International Craft Awards 2017 marks a new beginning for all such craftsman and artisan to be recognized for their contribution for the craft sector. 

The Chief Guest for the International Craft Awards 2017 is Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi, Cabinet Minister for Women & Child Development, Govt. of India, and the esteemed jury members from across the world including Dr. Ghada Hijjawi Qaddumi, President, World Crafts Council-Asia Pacific Region, Padmashri Laila Tyabji, Founder, Dastkar & legendary craft activist, Padmashri S. Shakir Ali, Master Artist Indian Miniature Paintings, Dr. Himadri Ghosh, Director, BID and former Academic Head NID, Ahmedabad, Erroll Pires Nelson, Master of Camel Split Ply Braiding and Retd. NID Faculty, Ahmedabad, Manisha Jha, Brand Ambassador of Sante Fe Tribal Art festival, USA & the National Award Winner, J. Niranjan, President, Paramparik Karigar & Nantong International Award Winner, Dr. Fatina Saiklay, Founder and Director of Co-Creando & Sustainable Ideas Lab, Milan, Italy & Prof. Aftab Gharda, Former Director, BIAD, United Kingdom.

Please accept our heartfelt congratulations once again, and we look forward the presence of award winners at 6 PM, on 14th October at Craft Village to receive this honor. Kindly treat this as an Invitation letter as well for you to attend the Award night on 14th October. We have also marked a copy of this information to your respective embassy in New Delhi as well as Indian embassy in various countries to help issue you and your team a valid Visa to attend the said event.

Winners can book their train/air tickets for destination on 13th October ( to Delhi) and back on 16th October (from Delhi) and nearest hotels to the venue Aerocity (Near Terminal-3 Airport), you can find booking in those hotels, our team can propose nearby good hotels for your consideration and booking.

For any other assistance please feel free to contact.

Team Craft Village                                    

The Jury

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-62495922-2', 'auto'); ga('send', 'pageview');